New LicenseNewsNovels

Via Lactea Announces English License for Ice’s Modern Danmei Series DAWNING

Via Lactea has announced its license acquisition for Dawning, a modern danmei by author Ice.

Original title 黎明之后, Dawning was originally published on gongzicp starting in 2019, and completed serialization with a total of 106 chapters. It was previously known to English fans as After the Dawn.

The novel follows entertainment industry bigwig Luo Li as he and his ex, Duan Mingyan, put aside their differences to take down a common enemy.  But perhaps the pain Duan Mingyan put Luo Li through wasn’t what it originally seemed…

Via Lactea teased the novel with the following blurb:

“It’s a big world. No matter where, no matter when, no matter what—anything is good. 

As long as it’s with you.”

Cover and promotional art by Beni accompanied the announcement, and Via Lactea stated that preorders will begin on January 28, 2023 for the series’ three collected volumes. The books are listed for $25.99CAN from retailers, and $29.99CAN+ for ordering variations through Via Lactea’s website. Fans who preordered in the first twenty-fours are to receive a handwritten note and autograph from Ice.  Additional freebies include polaroids, photo cards, and badges are also available depending on the edition ordered.

The official release is scheduled for May 15, 2023.

RELATED: Dawning Vols. 1-3 available to purchase now!

Source: Via Lactea’s Twitter Account