New LicenseNewsNovels


Seven Seas Entertainment has announced the license acquisition for three hugely popular danmei series by Mo Xiang Tong Xiu (MXTX).

MXTX’s works are global sensations, inspiring a slew of successful adaptations such as the mega-hit live-action series The Untamed. It felt like just a matter of time until these super-popular series were picked up, and based on the Twitter responses, it’s a gamble for Seven Seas that has paid off. The author’s hashtag even became a top-trending tag on the entire site not long after.

Seven Seas Entertainment has released the following information about each series:

The Scum Villain’s Self-Saving System

Half-demon Luo Binghe rose from humble beginnings and a tortured past to become unrivaled in strength and beauty. With his harem of over three hundred wives, and dominion over both the human and demonic realms, he is truly the most powerful protagonist—in a trashy web novel series!

At least, that’s what Shen Yuan, online alias “Peerless Cucumber,” believes as he finishes reading the final chapter in Proud Immortal Demon Way. But when a combination of rage and a poor meal choice leads to his death, Shen Yuan finds himself reborn into the world of the web novel, in the body of Shen Qingqiu–the beautiful but cruel teacher to a young Luo Binghe. Although as Shen Qingqiu, he now has incredible power and abilities as a cultivator, he’s destined to be horrifically punished for crimes against the protagonist, so this new Shen Qingqiu has only one course of action: get into Luo Binghe’s good graces before the young man’s rise to power. That’s the only way he’ll escape the awful fate of a true scum villain!

Original title 人渣反派自救系统, The Scum Villain’s Self-Saving System: Ren Zha Fanpai Zijiu Xitong will be released both in deluxe paperback and ebook format, with Volume 1 due to be released in December 2021. The series—also known online as SVSSS—will run for four volumes total, with both cover art and internal illustrations by Xiao Tong Kong (Velinxi). The translation will be provided by Faelicy and Lily.

Grandmaster of Demonic Cultivation: Mo Dao Zushi

Wei Wuxian was once one of the most powerful men of his generation, a talented and clever young cultivator who harnessed martial arts and spirituality into powerful abilities. But when the horrors of war led him to seek more power through demonic cultivation, the world’s respect for his abilities turned to fear, and his death was celebrated throughout the land.

Years later, he awakens in the body of an aggrieved young man who sacrifices his soul so that Wei Wuxian can exact revenge on his behalf. Though granted a second life, Wei Wuxian is not free from his first, nor the mysteries that appear before him now. Yet this time, he’ll face it all with the righteous and esteemed Lan Wangji at his side, another powerful cultivator whose unwavering dedication and shared memories of their past will help shine a light on the dark truths that surround them.

Original title 魔道祖师, Grandmaster of Demonic Cultivation: Mo Dao Zu Shi will be released both in deluxe paperback and ebook format, with Volume 1 to be released in December 2021. The series—also known online as MDZS—will run for five volumes altogether, with exclusive new cover art by Jin Fang and internal illustrations by Marina Privalova, who provided the art for the Russian editions. The translation will be provided by Suika, with Pengie as editor.

Heaven Official’s Blessing: Tian Guan Ci Fu

Born the crown prince of a prosperous kingdom, Xie Lian was renowned for his beauty, strength, and purity. His years of dedication and noble deeds allowed him to ascend to godhood. But those who rise, can also fall…and fall he does, cast from the Heavens again and again and banished to the mortal realm.

Eight hundred years after his mortal life, Xie Lian has ascended to godhood for the third time. Now only a lowly scrap collector, he is dispatched to wander the earthly realm to take on tasks appointed by the heavens to pay back debts and maintain his divinity. Aided by old friends and foes alike, and graced with the company of a mysterious young man with whom he feels an instant connection, Xie Lian must confront the horrors of his past in order to dispel the curse of his present.

Original title 天官賜福, Heaven Official’s Blessing: Tian Guan Ci Fu will be released both in deluxe paperback and ebook format, with Volume 1 due to be released in December 2021. The series—also known online as TGCF—will run for eight volumes together, with cover art is by 日出的小太陽 (tai3_3) and exclusive new internal illustrations by ZeldaCW. The covers are the same as those published on the Chinese edition from PinSin Studio, although that edition is only six volumes in total. The translation will be provided by Suika, with Pengie as editor.

All three series are being released with translations and artwork done by longtime fans of the series on which they’ve been hired, all with their own sizeable followings in their respective fandoms beforehand.

UPDATE: Mo Xiang Tong Xiu’s Three Series All Debut on New York Times Bestseller List

Seven Seas also launched a brand new danmei-only site, Seven Seas Danmei, that includes a dedicated landing page for each series. The site also has an FAQ section, which among other things, promises readers that the books will be released with uncensored content and all the bonus side stories (which have sometimes been omitted from print editions in other regions).

Source:,, @Gomanga Twitter